Posted by: jamescitty | August 16, 2012

What could you do with $5?

In the same way, let your light shine before men, so that they may see your good works and give glory to your Father in heaven.

Matthew 5:16

I frequent Sheetz a lot. I mean a whole lot. To the point where the staff working the register are on a first name basis with me, know my occupation, and other useless facts. Needless to say, I am a regular. I try to make it a point to frequent a lot of the same business and then get to know the cashiers, waitresses and other staff. It usually ends up in an opportunity to share the Gospel or at least build relationships with people.

One thing I started doing about 3 years ago at Sheetz was that about once a week I would purchase the items for the person behind me. What started the whole decision was standing in line at the Sheetz near my home and I had a $5 bill in my wallet. That’s pretty rare for anyone who knows me because I rarely carry cash. As I looked at President Lincoln a thought crossed my mind.

What if you committed to use $5 of each paycheck to bless someone else? What new avenues would become available for you to share the Gospel with someone else? Isn’t being able to bless someone else worth $5?

The guy behind me in line that day was a college student. Considering I was at the Sheetz on Wards Rd., I could only assume that he was a Liberty student.

How was buying a drink for a Liberty student going to help further the Gospel? The majority of students at LU are Christians and I was sure that even if he wasn’t, other people would have opportunities to share the Gospel with him. Why start now? Why not next time?

As I kept trying to talk myself out of it, I kept moving up in line closer to the register. After a few minutes of internal debate, it was my turn at the register. As I put my drink on the counter and began to grasp my crumpled up $5 bill out of my pocket the woman asked me if that was it. I found myself at a fork in the road. Be obedient or don’t.

I think we often find ourselves at a fork in the road as it relates to blessing other people. The choice is either yes I’ll do it, or no I won’t. We can make a lot of excuses for the reason why we will not bless people. Maybe that the cost is too great or we don’t perceive a genuine need, but ultimately it is a question of obedience. We often choose the easier road. The one that requires less of us and doesn’t make us risk leaving our comfort zone. The one that allows us to judge the person on the street begging for money as a drunk or a panhandler. Many times when faced with that fork, I choose to do what is easier and won’t require me to leave my comfort zone.

That day I chose to be obedient. I told the woman no, that I was purchasing the drink for the person behind me. I was almost as surprised as he was. He put his drink on the counter and thanked me for what I was doing. The woman behind the register was now confused. She couldn’t believe that I was purchasing a drink for someone I didn’t even know. I was kind of surprised as well and it opened up an opportunity for me to tell her about Jesus. To tell her about how I wanted to bless someone else by paying for something so small as a 20 oz drink because Jesus paid for me in a greater way. He willingly gave of Himself in a greater way so that I could be forgiven of sin. Though the person behind me in line was a Liberty student and a Christian, the woman at the register was not. She thanked me for what I did and mentioned how it had been encouraging for her to see someone do something nice for someone else. No great conversion story, just a seed that I hope one day will lead her to the God who loves her and paid for Her sin despite the fact she didn’t know Him.

The result of $5 was that I was able to bless 2 people and had the opportunity to share the story of Jesus with someone.

What could God do through you or with you if you would commit to use $5 of each paycheck to bless someone else? Would you really even miss the money? How much more could God use you and I if we were willing to say yes I will rather than no I won’t when an opportunity to bless others arises?

Leave a Reply

Categories

